Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Review: Crosswind

Crosswind by Lynne Cantwell

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book Info: Genre: Magical Realism
Reading Level: Adult
Recommended for: those interested in alternate spirituality, those who enjoyed the Pipe Woman Chronicles, or are interested in learning more about that world.
Trigger Warnings: Murder, attempted murder, chemical attacks

My Thoughts: Land, Sea, Sky is a continuation in the same world as the Pipe Woman Chronicles, taking place ten years later. It is not necessary to have read the Pipe Woman Chronicles to enjoy it, but you should anyway... because they are awesome. At any rate, Crosswind is mostly populated by new characters, although a few people from the Pipe Woman Chronicles do show up, so we meet Sue, Tess, and Darrell and their associated deities, as well as several other people with whom the main characters associate. Character development is very well done, providing information in an organic way and avoiding exposition and information dumps.

This series will be dealing with the fallout of the Second Coming (as people are calling the day the deities “came out”). Even with deities willing to show up and knock heads once in awhile, there are people who refuse to believe in them. And, of course, a new era of peace is less than welcome to those who have made their fortunes in war.

My only complaint is about the formatting on the ARC file, because the print was teeny-tiny and I had a really difficult time reading it. I plan to pick up a copy of this book in final format before the next one comes out so I can re-read it more comfortably.

All in all, yet another excellent book from this amazing writer. Fans of the Pipe Woman Chronicles, and those interested in alternate spirituality, as well as those dreaming of a better world should all enjoy this book.

Series Information: Land, Sea, Sky series
Prologue: Where Were You When, includes the shorts “Where Were You When”, “Change of Plans”, and “Prophecy”. Review linked here.
Book 1: Crosswind
The Pipe Woman Chronicles
Book 1: Seized, review linked here
Book 2: Fissured, review linked here
Book 3: Tapped, review linked here
Book 4: Gravid, review linked here
Book 5: Annealed, review linked here

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the author's publicist in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Synopsis: Storm's coming...

Life on Earth is much improved since the pagan gods' return. As conflict eases around the world, attention—and money—has turned to more humanitarian goals: improving the lives of the First Nations peoples and others who were repressed for thousands of years.

But the former ruling class—the military, religious, and corporate leaders who profited under the old system—are about to stage a last-ditch effort to bring their good times back.

The gods refuse to start a new war against those men, because that would make them no better than Their opponents. Instead, They have drafted three humans to help Them. Together, Tess, Sue and Darrell must find a way past their own flaws to ensure the gods' peace will not be destroyed.

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

My apologies for the moderation, but I am spending almost an hour a day deleting spam messages. I will approve all comments as quickly as possible.