Saturday, May 25, 2013

Book Review: "14" by Peter Clines

1414 by Peter Clines

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book Info: Genre: Supernatural/Lovecraftian Fantasy—Cthulhuian Mythos
Reading Level: Adult
Recommended for: Fans of Lovecraft, Cthulhu Mythos, Supernatural-themed stories
Trigger Warnings: murder, slavery, people kept as food/prey animals

My Thoughts: This is an incredibly creepy book. I mean, wow; I was glued to the pages, flipping as fast as I could on my Kindle. This is a really awesome book! I don't even know what to say about it, I'm feeling all fan-girl and squeeish!

I loved the characters. Nate was sort of an Everyman put into a weird situation. Xela and Veek were great as Daphne and Velma to his Scooby. Tim Farr was mysterious and fabulous in his role. Timothy was a bit in the background, but there when he was needed; Clive and Debbie; Mandy; Oskar Rommel; Andrew; even the cockroaches... they all had their parts to play, and all were created so well. The plot moved along slowly, but the creeps just kept coming, and the last part of the book was OMG! I can't even tell you, 'cause (shhhhh) spoilers! But if you like Lovecraft, if you enjoy the Cthulhu Mythos, if you love supernatural thrillers, you really need to read this book. You'll love it as much as I did.

Disclosure: I received an e-galley from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Synopsis: Padlocked doors. Strange light fixtures. Mutant cockroaches.

There are some odd things about Nate’s new apartment. 

Of course, he has other things on his mind. He hates his job. He has no money in the bank. No girlfriend. No plans for the future. So while his new home isn’t perfect, it’s livable. The rent is low, the property managers are friendly, and the odd little mysteries don’t nag at him too much. 

At least, not until he meets Mandy, his neighbor across the hall, and notices something unusual about her apartment. And Xela’s apartment. And Tim’s. And Veek’s. 

Because every room in this old Los Angeles brownstone has a mystery or two. Mysteries that stretch back over a hundred years. Some of them are in plain sight. Some are behind locked doors. And all together these mysteries could mean the end of Nate and his friends. 

Or the end of everything...

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

My apologies for the moderation, but I am spending almost an hour a day deleting spam messages. I will approve all comments as quickly as possible.